County and district boundaries exist primarily for local government administration purposes. Cumbria is one of 33 counties in England and covers an area of 6,767 km sq; making it the second largest county by area in the country. Cumbria is divided into the following six local authority districts: Allerdale; Barrow-in-Furness; Carlisle; Copeland; Eden; and South Lakeland. Most datasets are available at county and district level and so this is a good starting point when gathering local information.  However, as Cumbria is a diverse county, it is also worth gathering statistics broken down at lower levels of geography, such as ward or LSOA level.

To access statistical profiles for the county and districts, please select a theme from the list below, then in the ‘Select a Report’ drop down menu that will appear, select ‘Local Authority’ for a Cumbria profile or ‘District’ for district profiles and then select a district from the ‘Select an Area’ drop down menu that will appear.

Narrative Summaries